Covid-19: Algiers’ residents outside province allowed to join residence before 8 pm


Algiers Province services granted, Today, Friday, an exceptional license allowing residents outside the province to join their residence before eight o’clock in the evening, Ennaher Online news website reportedon Friday.

According to the same source, goods transporters are not concerned with the traffic ban affecting 29 provinces for a week, as of Today, Friday.

Taxis drivers, at the level of the province of Algiers, are licensed to carry out their activities normally, taking into account the lockdown time slot enacted for each province.

During the working session chaired, on Thursday in Algiers, by President of the Republic Abdelmadjid Tebboune, devoted to the review of the health situation in the country in light of the increase in the number of cases of Covid-19 in many provinces, several measures were decided to “keep the situation under control”.

Following the presentation of reports by the walis (province governors) of Algiers, Oran, Biskra, Setif and Ouargla, during the meeting, the participants agreed on “granting State’s special insurance for all doctors and public health professionals that are directly dealing with the Covid-19 pandemic” nationwide.

The meeting was also attended by the prime minister, the minister of the Interior, Local Authorities and Urban Planning, the minister of Health, Population and Hospital Reform, the head of National Gendarmerie, the director general of national police and members of the scientific committee for monitoring the progress of the coronavirus pandemic.

According to the new measures, “all state-owned and private laboratories are allowed to carry out Covid-19 tests to ease the pressure on Pasteur Institute and its branches in the different provinces.”

In addition, “neighbourhood committees, civil society groups and walis may be involved in raising consciousness among citizens.”

The meeting agreed to grant “all the prerogatives to province governors in making available the required resources.”

The meeting took measures relating to road traffic, by “banning movement between the 29 affected provinces for a week, from tomorrow, Friday.”

The provinces concerned are Boumerdes, Souk Ahras, Tessimsilt, Djelfa, Mascara, Oum El Bouaghi, Batna, Bouira, Relizane, Biskra, Khenchela, Msila, Chlef, Sidi Belabbes, Medea, Blida, Bordj Bou-Arreridj, Tipaza, Ouargla, Bechar, Algiers, Constantine, Oran, Setif, Annaba, Bejaia, Adrar, Laghouat and El Oued.

The traffic ban also includes public and private passenger transport on the weekend, in the affected provinces, from tomorrow, Friday.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here