Algeria’s crucial Presidential Election gets its start- Live


Algeria – Faced with a rejection of hundreds of thousands of protesters, the presidential elections started this Thursday at 8:00 am with the opening of polling stations nationwide.

The operation will continue until tonight at 19 hours. However, the delay can be extended by one hour.

Abroad and in the south of the country, the electoral operation has been underway for days for the Algerian community abroad and the nomads of the Algerian Sahara. According to figures revealed yesterday by a member of the Independent National Election Authority (ANIE), the voter turnout through the various foreign polling stations was around 22% until yesterday, while the Nomads voted 30%.

10:45 pm: The campaign leadership of Abdelmadjid Tebboune proclaims a victory of 64% of the votes (spokesperson).

10:40 p.m .: Azzedine Mihoubi’s campaign Director evokes a second round in which the RND candidate would take part.

19:00 : Counting of ballots at the polling stations started.

The voting operations for the presidential election ended Thursday at 7 p.m. at the level of 61,014 polling stations nationwide.

A total of 24,474,161 electors, including 914,308 registered at the diplomatic and consular centers abroad, had to choose among the five candidates running for president, namely Ali Benflis, Abdelmadjid Tebboune, Azzedine Mihoubi, Abdelaziz Belaid and Abdelkader Bengrina.

The voter turnout nationwide reached 20.43% at 3 p.m., according to the head of the National Independent Authority for the Elections (ANIE) Mohamed Charfi.

3:00 pm: In Algiers downtown, thousands of citizens peacefully express their rejection of the elections.

11h: 30: The candidate Abdelkader Bengrina votes in the office of Ahmed Aroua, in Bouchaoui.

10:53 am:  Candidate Ali Benflis casts his vote at Mohamed Alig School in Hydra

10:35: Houda-Imane Feraoun, Minister of Post and Technology, votes at the office of Ahmed Aroua, Bouchaoui.

10:30 am: Candidate Abdelmadjid Tebboune votes in the office of Ahmed Aroua, in Bouchaoui.


10:15 am: The candidate Abdelaziz Belaïd votes at the Mokhtari brothers’ school in Hussein-Dey.


10:05: The candidate Azzedine Mihoubi votes at the school of 5-July of Staouéli

09:50: The Head of State Abdelkader Bensalah votes in the office of Ahmed Aroua, in Bouchaoui.
9:40 am: Former Minister Noureddine Yazid Zerhouni casts his vote in Hydra.
9:00 am: In Béjaia, citizens are blocking the voting process by closing several centers.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here