Germany declares Algeria safe country of origin, limiting asylum from it


A contentious law to limit asylum applications from Georgia and three Maghreb countries, namely; Algeria, Morocco and Tunisia was approved, on Friday, by the German parliament’s lower house.

In this aspect, up to 509 German lawmakers, mostly from Chancellor Angela Merkel’s conservative-left coalition government, voted in favor of the legislation, which declared Georgia, Algeria, Morocco and Tunisia as “safe countries of origin”.

On the other hand, 138 lawmakers, mainly from the opposition Greens and the Left Party, voted against the draft law.

For his part, Interior Minister Horst Seehofer has defended government’s plan, saying that last year less than 3 percent of asylum applications from these four countries were found credible, adding that the new legislation would speed up the processing of asylum applications and enable faster deportation of illegal migrants.

The legislation still needs the approval of the upper house the Bundesrat, where the opposition Greens and Left Party are planing to block it.






An Algerian news website aims at covering all the country’s territory through providing objective and positive image, focusing the most on breaking news.

A dynamic team is working on feeding the website by credible information in all fields of life; a reliable network composed of specialized elements working in harmony with our team in Algiers, the website’s headquarter, provides us more coverage and simultaneity.

“English” is what makes us different in Algeria and ranks us first too not only as a news website; English also makes it simple and fast for Anglophone world to discover our country.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here