Constantine-Algeria: The 9th CapDel workshop launched in El Khroub region


The 9th workshop of the pilot program “CapDel” for local development and participatory democracy, initiated under a triangular cooperation between Algerian government, European Union (EU) and United Nations Development programme (UNDP), has been launched, on Thursday in El Khroub region, the province of Constantine (East Algeria), APS reported.

The project ” aims to develop a participatory and transparent local governance to meet the needs of citizens, ” said National project director, head of research and synthesis to the office of Interior Minister and local Communities, Mohamed Dahmani, at the opening of the workshop work.

Mr Dahmani stressed that the main objective of CapDel program is to improve citizen participation, in local planning in the service of concerted communal governance, in 10 provinces of the national territory, to create hubs of local development’.

The same official said that CapDel program will help to “optimize” the efficiency of progress in the implementation of the projects, adding that this action is based on a shared vision of development between the various actors.

He has also highlighted the need to develop awareness-raising actions for women (elected officials, associations, local media, students) for more civic engagement.

For his part, the President of the town People’s Congress (APC) El Khroub,  Abdelhamid Aberkane, considered that participatory democracy is a way to ” raise the town, which has 500 000 inhabitants, with a better rank. ”

Moreover, the Wali of Constantine, Kamel Abbas, has affirmed that the choice of, El Khroub, is not fortuitous, but it obeys economic, cultural and social criteria, specifying that ” participatory democracy, which requires all citizens’ commitment, for better local governance.

With a funding from the Algerian government of $ 2,970,000, the EU with € 7,700,000, in addition to a contribution of $ 200,000 from UNDP, this program is conducted in the regions of El Khroub (Constantine), Babar (Khenchela), Djemila (Setif), Massaad (Djelfa) Ghazaouat (Tlemcen) and Djanet (Illizi) Timimoun (Adrar), Ouled Ben Abdelkader ( Chlef), Beni Maouche (Béjaïa) and Tighzirt (Tizi-Ouzou).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here